Eric Silva Disqualified – Completely Screwed by Yamasaki

Eric Silva impressed everyone with his first UFC win, picking up the “W” in just 40 seconds and in brutal fashion. It looked like he had another quick win as the brazilian rushed in with a Knee and then a barrage of punches to, what looked to be the side of the head.

The bout was stopped by referee Mario Yamasaki, and it seemed like Silva was on the way to his second straight win.

But the official decision took longer than normal to announced, and Yamasaki explained to Silva that he was disqualified because Yamasaki said the blows were to the back of Prater’s head.

UFC commentator Joe Rogan disagreed with the call and confronted Yamasaki in the center of the ring. “Those didn’t look like punches to the back of the head to me, do you feel comfortable with that call after seeing the replay?” Joe took Yamasak,i punch by punch, in slow motion through the replay pointing out that everyone seemed legal to him. Yamasaki seemed like he knew that he screwed up, but didn’t want to admit it. (Thats just my opinion from watching his body language, and my hope that he doesn’t actually believe it was a good call)

Yamasaki, in his defense stated he had to “make the call in the moment, and he saw the blows hit the back of Prater’s head.”MMA referees do not have instant replay. Which is ridiculous because we should be after the truth.

Silva took the disappointment well.

“I have great respect for the referee,” Silva told Rogan. “I don’t think they were hitting the back of the head.”

The bout will go down as a loss on Silva’s record.

You may also like...

4 Responses

  1. Tom Mason says:

    I am not sure what some of you were looking at. Clearly a couple of those strikes were to the back of the head. While it is disappointing that such a devastating fighter was DQ’d he did strike at least twice to the back of the head. On this one Rogan owes the ref an apology.

    Having said that I have seen many MMA fights where more strikes to the back of the head happened without a DQ. But I guess that is up to the ref.

    • POPPA ROTZEE says:

      I totally disagree with you, sorry bud. Your entitled to your opinion of course…but I’m not swayed. I watched that over and over in slow motion. One grazed the top of the back of his head, but he was clearly going out of his way to aim for the sides of his head.

      The only time he got close to the back of the head, was when the punch was being thrown at the side of the head, and then his opponent drop changing the trajectory and causing the punch, which would of landed on the side of his head, to land on the back/side of the head. It was nothing that would leads me to believe he was intentionally aiming for the back of the head nor any that looked like the “CLEARLY” hit the back of the head diserving a DQ.

      I for one am glad Joe Rogan stood up for him.

      EDIT: I added the video, tell me where you see these disqualifying hits to the stray accident is not worth a DQ brother.

  2. PSYCHIC says:

    That was BS, Yamasaki DQ’d Erick Silva because one shot in back of the head to Carlo Prater, while Prater was turning and clearly not defending himself??? WTF, where was Yamasaki when Vitor Belfort was punching Anthony Johnson in back of the head while on the ground (I counted 5 solid punches to the back of the head)? Not taking anything away from Belfort but he punches people in back of the head too many times and gets away with it, example the fight with Rich Franklin. But Erick Silva’s fight was the biggest BS of the night, and also Sam Stout should have beat Thiago Tavares? 2 automatic Brazilian points coming up.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *