NEWS — 08 June 2011
Video Break Down: Samuel Braga Vs Gui Mendes Rematch

There is a video posted of the end of the controversial Samuel Braga and Gui Mendes rematch. Watch it by clicking the video.

Now, below, I’ve taken some still frames and posted it with a description of what I saw happening above it.

:02 = Braga is already trying to take his back

2 sec

:04 = Gui responds by attacking foot

4 sec

:06 – :07 = Gui initiates roll to his left side (Angling towards out of bounds)

7 sec

:06 – :07 = Braga Posts up not wanting to follow roll

8 sec

:08 = Gui CONTINUES to force the roll out of the mat. Braga finally rolls, but rolls TOWARDS the inside of mat, not out of it and does so to clear Guis foot so that he could take his back..which he did( Does not indicate fleeing a submission. How can you “Flee the mat”, rolling back towards mat while advancing your position)

8 sec

9 sec


:09 = . Braga’s butt AND Gui’s foot are both in the yellow, Braga is climbing Guis back

10 s ec

:10 = Braga has Guis Back, on hook in and Gui still has a foot in yellow AND GUI ROLLS out of bounds..BRAGA is holding on to him lol

10 sec

Braga at 2 seconds has already initiated taking Gui’s Back, Gui RESPONDS to braga taking his back by putting on a foot lock…THEN..Gui is the one to initiate “THE ROLL” out of bounds. look at 8 seconds…GUI is the one that starts to roll towards out of bounds, Braga stays back one one hand…and then when he does roll, he angles it BACK TOWARDS in bounds…Doesn’t sound like fleeing to me.

At 10 seconds braga takes his back..and Gui still has a foot in the yellow and then GUI LEAPS out of bounds, with Braga holding on. So this raises some questions.

If I put you in a foot lock, and I ROLL YOU out of bounds….do I still get the two points? If so, thats kind of crazy. Does it count if we are both still in the yellow? How about if we are in the yellow and then I’M the one that jumps out with you hanging on my back?

If THAT is a rule, then I will concede that I understand why the points were scored. But I don’t think for a second that braga rolled out of bounds to flee any submission…that video makes it even more obvious, in fact…if you watch, the only roll Braga DOES..is a roll angled BACK IN towards the mat… Gui is the one that initially rolled out of bounds and when he lost the footlock and Braga had his back…Gui LEAPED out of bounds…it is pretty clear..if anyone was fleeing anything..it was Gui Mendes.

That said, I tell you what..Gui is freaking smart man…really, really smart. That was genius to do. He truly knows the rules and how to play them to his advantage and both of these guys are incredible Jiu-Jitsu competitors. Round 3 anybody :)

Related Articles

Share

About Author

I am a Purple Belt and Assistant Instructor for Draculino at Gracie Barra Texas. I also shoot a lot of videos and created a Youtube channel for Gracie Barra Texas, which got me the nick name "Paparazzi" due to my running around with cameras all the time.

(8) Readers Comments

  1. @ Jacenko

    I think he had a intention to flee the mats. Was the only way for him to get the points to be win.

    • Uh oh I think I should have stay in the kiddie pool. I dive into the deep end, and there are sharks! :)

      Honored to hear from you sir. I just wanted to say that I meant no disrespect and since I’ve been watching your videos I’m a really big fan. I really appreciate the videos you guys put up on YouTube and now this site, it’s all awesome. Also those little cartoon videos were fucking hilarious.

      When I read the text for this article and looked at the video it just looked to me like 2 black belts rolling hard not really thinking about the boundaries of the mat. He was attacking your foot and you were defending. Nothing different than I see every day at my academy. I’d have to agree that the rule is stupid and there really should be soft boundaries for the ring. A match shouldn’t be determined by such a lame call. The rule should be rewritten to read at least a warning first if he really thought it was intentional then perhaps points. But I still don’t see how he saw that as fleeing the mat. Go watch Olympic TaeKwonDo videos and you will see real fleeing the mat…

      • Thanks, I’m glad you liked my cartoons lol. I agree, I think there should be soft boundaries as well. I mean, there was nobody even in the other ring. The ref should let it go, if its safe until a reasonable time to stop and reset. IMO.

      • No problem :) I’m glad you like videos, I hope to keep it up with nice videos for you guys! And I’m glad to hear from you always!

  2. It appears that Jacenko agrees with Poppa Rotzee’s original complaint afterall and that it was a bad call by the ref. Jacenko stated that the rolling out of bounds was “incidental” and not “fleeing”. So regardless of how a person may interpret what someone is thinking or feeling at the time, what is importaant is that it was clearly a bad call.

    • Agreed.

      Not here to overturn the call. I don’t think thats possible…but It does illustrate that the rules need to be written clearer and less open to interpretation.

  3. This coming from a total objective viewer… There is a problem with your assessment. At 00:10 Braga doesn’t have Gui’s back Gui still has Braga’s ankle which is shown at 00:11 after the roll and Gui’s front side is toward the camera. Not only does he have it, it’s on extremely tight. I’d say the combination of Gui torqueing the ankle and Braga diving forward to release the pressure was the cause of the roll and not from Gui escaping Braga taking his back… You’re probably right that it was more incidental on both their parts than fleeing a submission but at least represent the events accurately to avoid someone like me questioning your assessment.

    • Thank you for you post, I am completely open to hearing other views. That being said, I based my assessment on what I personally saw, combined with what Braga himself told me. Braga is an author here..you can ask him anything you like about it.

      Now, that being said..you are right about one thing..the foot lock is was still on. I edited that part now. I confused seeing braga move his other leg and it looked like it free’d it. Thanks for pointing that out.

      Now, that also doesn’t change the fact that it is Gui who leaped out of bounds..not braga..braga was on his back along for the ride.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>